Alien: The Original Art Edition.

Following last week´s post, we have here a similar item: the Alien: Original Art Edition.

As with the Mauzzucchelli´s book, this is a faithful reproduction of the original art of this movie adaptation drawn by Walter Simonson and adapted by Archie Goodwin. It is a huge hardcover book and a joy to read.

_MG_8862

_MG_8863

_MG_8864

As a kid I had the spanish edition of the book and, together with the “making of” book of the movie, this was the only contact I had with the movie (my father wanted to take me to see it but my mom did not allow). I was so scared it took me a long time to read the book fully. I remember putting over the TV set, and waiting there for me to get the courage needed to open it again and keep reading it. Good days, 35 years ago.

_MG_8865

_MG_8866

_MG_8867

This book has the whole adaptation in black and white and also includes some pretty interesting stuff: the whole script by Goodwin and also some test pages Simonson did to get the gig. They are in full color and pretty cool, with a radically different Alien monster. Also we can see some color proofs and a look to foreign versions.

_MG_8868

_MG_8869

Walter SImonson is one of my favourite comic book artists ever. First thing I read by him was this Alien book, and I loved his style (I even copied him a bit when I was very very young) and I loved his signature (shaped as a dinosaur).

Simonson´s style is very much in debt with Jack Kirby (just like almost everybody else´s!) and he is able to put so much energy in his drawings. I love a lot of his work but I would recommend this Alien book, the graphic novel Star Slammers and of course, what I think is his best work: his run on Thor (more on that later).

So, if you don’t have any original work by him (I don´t) , this is the next best thing. Huge pages of “almost original” Simonson art is really something wonderful.

This book is in print and while a bit pricey, it is worth every dollar.

Say something

